Office of Research 2017 UC Davis Chancellor’s Innovation Awards - Office of Research

2017 UC Davis Chancellor’s Innovation Awards

The UC Davis Chancellor’s Innovation Awards are designed to recognize faculty, community partners, and industry leaders for their success in developing new technologies, social platforms or other innovations based on university research or academic endeavors. These innovators play an essential role in translating university research to improve the lives of others and address the needs of our global society.

Awards Categories

The Innovator of the Year award recognizes individual faculty or staff, or teams (which may also include students) whose inventive, innovative or entrepreneurial activities have had a measurable societal impact or have a very strong potential to do so. This award is open to faculty and staff from all academic disciplines at UC Davis, including social sciences, law, business, life & physical sciences, medicine, computational sciences, and other areas of research and academic study. Up to two awards will be issued. Award recipients will receive a cash award of $10,000, which can be applied to further their research. Nominations for this award can be submitted by anyone within the campus community. Individuals are not allowed to nominate themselves.

The Innovative Community Partner award recognizes a leader or organization in the UC Davis community that has contributed significantly to driving regional economic impact through innovation, entrepreneurship or support for growing a startup ecosystem in collaboration with UC Davis. Nominations for this award will be provided by the Awards Committee (defined below).

The Lifetime Achievement award recognizes an acknowledged innovator whose career accomplishments include innovations that have led to a long-term positive impact on the lives of others and is an inspiring influence for UC Davis innovators. This award is open to anyone who has made significant accomplishments consistent with the mission of the university. The award winner will be selected by the Chancellor, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Research.

Submission Process and Deadline

Innovator of the Year Award

To nominate an individual for the Innovator of the Year award, please complete and submit the form by May 1, 2017.

Once nominations are received, the Office of Research Venture Catalyst staff will contact the nominees to request additional information about their innovation(s) as well as references and supporting documents.

Awards Selection Committee

An Awards Selection Committee will be assembled from the following campus units. The number in parenthesis indicates the number of individuals from each unit/department.

  • Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research (3)
  • Child Family Institute for Innovation and Entrepreneurship (1)
  • UC Davis faculty (4)
  • External constituent (1)

Review Process

Committee members will review and provide a rating for each nomination based on a predetermined protocol that evaluates the uniqueness of the innovation(s) and their potential societal impact.

For more Information contact Arkady Hagopian ([email protected]) in Venture Catalyst.

View last year’s recipients.